It is no secret that the original cast members from the Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is returning for its alternate universe spin-off anime, The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan. A new PV has been released and reintroduces them as their “Disappearance” counterparts.

Here are the cast members and their roles as introduced in the video:

Aya Hirano (Fairy Tail’s Lucy Heartfilia and Parasyte’s Migi) as Haruhi Suzumiya
Natsuko Kuwatani (Rozen Maiden’s Suiseiseki and Sengoku Basara: Judge End’s Kasuga) as Ryoko Asakura
Tomokazu Sugita (Gintama’s Gintoki Sakata and Blazblue’s Ragna the Bloodedge) as Kyon
Daisuke Ono (Durarara!!’s Shizuo Heiwajima and Black Butler’s Sebastian Michaelis) as Itsuki Koizumi
Yuki Matsuoka (Negima’s Evangeline A.K. McDowell and Bleach’s Orihime Inoue) as Tsuruya-san
Yuko Goto (Shuffle!’s Kaede Fuyou and Hidamari Sketch’s Hiro) as Mikuru Asahina
Minori Chihara (Lucky Star’s Minami Iwasaki and Beyond the Boundary’s Mitsuki Nase) as Yuki Nagato

A flyer from the recently-concluded Anime Japan 2015 also announced that the anime will have 16 episodes and will also have one OVA.


The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan is a spin-off from the main Haruhi Suzumiya series and is set in the alternate universe we were introduced to during the The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya movie where everyone is normal and without powers. It is based on the anime’s official spin-off manga by Puyo and is scheduled to premiere this 3 April 2015.

The animation will be produced by anime studio Satelight, which will feature a different form of animation which was done for the main series by Kyoto Animation. At the helm of this project as the director will be Junichi Wada (Eureka Seven episode director) while series composition will be done by Touko Machida (Lucky Star). Ikoku Ito (Sailor Moon R animation director) meanwhile is in charge of the anime’s character designs.

Thanks to Kagayaki Mirai for the video