The award winners for the 9th Seiyuu Awards have been announced!

Briefly, the Seiyuu awards are annual commendations to honor the best performing actors, actresses, song artistes and radio personalities from the seiyuu (voice-acting and dubbing) industry.

Very quickly, the top honours for 2015 go to:

Best Lead Actor

Daisuke Ono (Mausu Promotion)


Notable roles: Seishu Handa (Barakamon), Kokkuri-san (Gugure! Kokkuri-san), Daikoku (Noragami)

Best Lead Actress

Sayaka Kanda (Fantic)


Notable roles: Anna (Frozen Japanese Dub), Nadeshiko Adenokouji (Binbougami ga!)

Daisuke Ono wins best male lead this year, making a comeback from 2010 when he won the same title as well. Meanwhile, Sayaka Kanda, best known for her performance as Anna from the Japanese dub of Frozen, might come as an unexpected surprise for most as she does not have many anime roles.


Best Supporting Actor

Katsuyuki Konishi (Ken Production)


Notable roles: Kotaro Amon (Tokyo Ghoul), Bulat (Akame ga KILL!), Tsumugu Kinagase (Kill la Kill)

Toshiyuki Morikawa (AXLONE)


Notable roles: Toshizo Hijikata (Bakamatsu Rock), Alfried Gallant (Buddy Complex), Thoth Caduceus (Kamigami no Asobi)


Best Supporting Actress

Miyuki Sawashiro (Mausu Promotion)


Notable roles: Kana Kimishima (Parasyte), Izuna Hatsuse (No Game No Life), Bishamon (Noragami)

Kana Hanazawa (Office Osawa)


Notable roles: Akane Tsunemori (PSYCHO-PASS), Satomi Murano (Parasyte), Kosaki Onodera (Nisekoi), Rize Kamishiro (Tokyo Ghoul)

This year we have four awardees for the title, up from last year’s number of two. The four winners are all prolific seiyuus, having a strong showing in their side character roles. It’s also Kana Hanazawa’s first win in the Seiyuu Awards, so congratulations to her on that!


Best Newcomer Male 

Ryota Ohsaka (EARLY WING)


Notable roles: Eijun Sawamura (Ace of Diamond), Kakeru Kazami(Shounen Hollywood: Holly Stage for 49), Nagate Tanikaze (Knights of Sidonia)

Soma Saito (81 Produce)


Notable roles: Tadashi Yamaguchi (Haikyuu!!), Twelve (Terror in Resonance), Tatsumi (Akame ga KILL!)

Natsuki Hanae (Across Entertainment)


Notable roles: Ken Kaneki (Tokyo Ghoul), Kousei Arima (Your Lie in April), Inaho Kaizuka (Aldnoah.Zero)


Best Newcomer Female 

Sora Amamiya (Music Ray’n)


Notable roles: Akame (Akame ga Kill!), Asseylum Vers Allusia (Aldnoah.Zero), Touka Kirishima (Tokyo Ghoul)

Reina Ueda (81 Produce)


Notable roles: Naru Sekiya (Hanayamata), Juri Makina (Harmonie), Haruka Shibazaki (Terror in Resonance)

Aya Suzaki (I’m Enterprise)


Notable roles: Tamako Kitashirakawa (Tamako Market), Shizuka Hoshijiro (Sidonia no Kishi), Mako Mankanshoku (Kill la Kill)

This year, we have a whopping 6 names in total for the newcomer’s award. These up-and-coming new seiyuus have definitely left a deep impression over the past year. Despite being relatively new to the industry, you’ve probably heard their performances somewhere before. I’m looking forward to hearing them in their future roles!

Editors’ note: Looks like the writers here at AFACHAN were spot on in looking out for up and coming talent! Not only have we featured Sora Amamiya previously, Natsuki Hanae and Soma Saito are also recipients of our unofficial AFACHAN Seiyuu awards for 2014!


Singing Award


Emi Nitta (S), Yoshino Nanjo (office EN-JIN), Aya Uchida (JTB Entertainment), Suzuko Mimori (Hibiki), Riho Iida (Hoeishinsha), Pile (Spacey), Aina Kusuda (JTB Entertainment), Yurika Kubo (Clare Voice), Sora Tokui (Hibiki)



Well, what can I say? Given Love Live’s unbeatable popularity, it’s not a surprise that they took the cake in this category. With their 5th live not too long ago, μ’s support from their fans is still going strong, and will probably continue for a long time.


Best Personality (Radio)

Daisuke Ono (Mausu Promotion)


Hiroshi Kamiya (Aoni Production)


Notable roles: Yato (Noragami), Balder Hringhorni (Kamigami no Asobi), Teppei Arashi (Captain Earth)

With Kamiya and Ono both winning the best personality award, one cannot help but think of Dear Girl ~Stories~, the famous radio show hosted by the two of them. The two of them are very close friends, and their antics on DGS is well-loved by many.


Popularity Award 

Hiroshi Kamiya (Aoni Production)



True to its unofficial moniker, the Hiroshi Kamiya Award, Hiroshi Kamiya wins this title (again!). This marks his fourth consecutive victory, upholding his status as the one and only winner ever since this category was introduced. This doesn’t come as a surprise. Instead, it would be shocking if he didn’t win again this year.

Continuing the trend from last year, Noragami seems like a big hit among the winning seiyuus. Akame ga KILL! is also a popular choice, with the voices of the two main characters winning in the newcomer’s category.

Take a look at this year’s first wave of award winners and last year’s award winners!

The awards ceremony will be held tomorrow, 7 March 2015.

More information can be found on the official website and twitter account.

Congratulations to all the winners!