Before we get to see the latest addition to the ever-popular Macross franchise, Macross Delta, a special TV show will be aired on New Year’s eve. This TV special will preview the upcoming Macross Delta anime and introduce us to the cast, and here is the TVCM for that very special:

Featuring the song, “Ikenai Borderline” by the anime’s resident idol group, Walküre, the video announces that the New Year’s Eve preview special will feature an “almost complete version of episode 1.” Walküre will be the series’ spiritual successor to the franchise’s legendary fictional musical acts, like Lynn Minmay (Macross), Fire Bomber (Macross 7), and Sheryl Nome and Ranka Lee (Macross Frontier). It will comprise of five members, including Freyja Wion, voiced by 18-year-old Minori Suzuki from Aichi Prefecture, a rookie seiyuu who won the audition/ contest searching for the next Macross star. The other members will be revealed later, probably in the New Year special.


The anime is set 18 years after the events of Macross Frontier and follows the five-member tactical musical unit “Walküre,” which will comprise of the anime’s five main girls, including Freyja Wion. The anime will also feature the  “Aerial Chivalry Order,” a mysterious Valkyrie unit which begins its operations at the same time as “Walküre.”