The 11 nominees for one of the most prestigious awards in the manga industry, the Taisho Award (also known as the Cartoon Grand Prize), have finally been announced by the 9th Manga Taisho Award executive committee, which mainly comprise of bookstore staff.


The nominees must be relatively new works with eight or less volumes released. Here are the nominees:

Okazaki ni Sasagu by Saho Yamamoto


Koi wa Ameagari no You ni by Jun Mayuzuki


Golden Kamuy by Satoru Noda


Dungeon Meshi by Ryouko Kui


Tokyo Tarareba-jou by Akiko Higashimura


Tonkatsu DJ Agetarou by Ipyao and Yuujirou Koyama


Nami yo Kiite Kure by Hiroaki Samura


Hyakumanjou Labyrinth by Takamichi


Blue Giant by Shinichi Ishizuka


Boku dake ga Inai Machi/ ERASED by Kei Sanbe


Machida-kun no Sekai by Yuki Andou


These are up and coming mangas which readers should look out for, and aside from Boku dake ga Inai Machi/ ERASED, none of them seem to have any anime adaptation as of writing. Boku dake ga Inai Machi/ ERASED is currently having its TV anime adaptation air as part of the new winter 2016 anime season, and a live-action adaptation has also been announced.

A second round of voting will determine the award’s winner, who will be receiving the award on 29 March in an awarding ceremony. Previous winners of the award include Hiromu Arakawa’s Silver Spoon (2012), Kaoru Mori’s A Bride’s Story (2014), Chika Umino’s March Comes in Like a Lion (2011), and Yuki Suetsugu’s Chihayafuru (2009). Winning the award is often seen as a step to having the series become even more popular.

Source: Comic Natalie