Rumiko Takahashi‘s works have been loved the world over, as her mangas, which include Ranma 1/2, InuYasha, Urusei Yatsura, and most recently, Rin-Ne, have touched generations of manga readers across the world. In recognition for all the great classics that she has created, she has been nominated for one of the highest honors in the comic book world, which is the Eisner Award Hall of Fame!


She is nominated with 13 other big names in the comic book industry, which includes Lynda Barry, Kim Deitch, Rube Goldberg, Edward Gorey, Bill Griffith, Matt Groening, Jack Kamen, Francoise Mouly, George Perez, Antonio Prohias, P. Craig Russell, Jacques Tardi, and Herb Trimpe. Two people, Human Torch visionary creator, Carl Burgos, and Moomin creator, Tove Jansson, will automatically inducted into the Hall of Fame. However, Takahashi and the others have to undergo an election where the votes of industry professionals will determine which four nominees deserve to be included in the Hall of Fame the most. The winners will be announced during the Eisner Awards ceremony during the San Diego Comic-Con (SDCC) this 22 July.

Eisner-Awards (1)

This won’t be Takahashi’s first time being nominated for the Eisner Awards Hall of Fame, as she was also nominated back in 2014. The Eisner Awards Hall of Fame includes a Who’s Who of comic book legends, which include Stan Lee (Marvel legend), Jack Kirby (Marvel legend), Steve Ditko (Marvel and DC legend), Bob Kane (Batman creator), and Will Eisner (The Spirit creator) himself. Also included are some Japanese manga giants, like Astro Boy and Black Jack mangaka, Osamu Tezuka, and Akira creator, Katsuhiro Otomo. The awards are often considered as Comics Industry’s equivalent of the Oscar Awards.


Source: ICv2