The awards just keep on piling for Makoto Shinkai’s your name., as its official soundtrack also gets an award. The 58th Japan Record Awards recently announced that the official your name. soundtrack by RADWIMPS has won their Special Award.


The soundtrack included 22 tracks composed by RADWIMPS, including the film’s theme songs,  “Zen Zen Zense (movie ver.),” “Sparkle,” “Yume Tōrō (movie ver.),” and “Nandemo Ii ya (movie edit/movie ver.).” It is also the very first RADWIMPS album to top the Oricon charts, topping it for 12 straight weeks.

Along with RADWIMPS, the Special Award was also handed to THE YELLOW MONKEY and Shiro Sagisu for the official soundtrack of Shin Godzilla, as well as South Korean male idol group, BIGBANG. Additionally, Utada Hikaru’s return album, Fantome, won the Excellence Album Award this year.

The awarding ceremony will be held on 30th December, and aired via TBS.

source: ANN