It’s awards season folks, and of course, this includes the ones in Japan too! And now, the 13th Annual Seiyuu Awards have announced the winners of some of their special awards. These are the Merit Award, Kei Tomiyama Award, Kazue Takahashi Award, and Synergy Award.

Here are the winners:

Merit Award (given to seiyuu who have contributed to many genres, including foreign works, through the years):

  • Kenichi Ogata (My Hero Academia’s Gran Torino and Detective Conan’s Professor Agata)
  • Hisako Kyouda (The Yo-Kai Watch narrator and Yu Yu Hakusho’s Genkai)

Kei Toyama Award (Given to the male performer who broadened voice acting to all forms of media): Kappei Yamaguchi (One Piece’s Usopp and Kiki’s Delivery Service’s Tombo)

Kazue Takahashi Award (the same as the Kei Toyama Award but for female seiyuu): Mika Kanai (Code Geass’s Kaguya Sumeragi and Gundam X’s Tiffa Adill)

Synergy Award (Given to the work which best shows the talent of seiyuu): POP TEAM EPIC

They will announce the winners of the other awards, including the new awards like the “Foreign Movie/Series Award,” “Game Award,” “Influencer Award,” and “MVS (Most Valuable Seiyuu)” during the Awarding Ceremony. It will happen on 9th March at the Bunka Housou Media Plus Hall in Tokyo.

source: Comic Natalie