The Kohaku Uta Gassen New Year special isn’t your normal music special, as it will only feature artistes who truly shined for that year. And now, it seems that for the second time ever, RADWIMPS will be joining in for the 70th annual Kouhaku Uta Gassen!

© EMI Music Japan

The RADWIMPS official website confirmed their participation in the annual New Year tradition. And for this year, they will be playing a medley of tracks from Makoto Shinkai’s Weathering with You!

NHK selected the performers based on their music sales for the year, as well karaoke sales and official NHK polls. The line-up for this year includes:

Red Team (Women):

  • aiko
  • Ikimono-gakari
  • Sayuri Ichikawa
  • AKB48
  • Midori Oka
  • Keyakizaka46
  • Fuyumi Sakamoto
  • Ringo Shiina
  • Aya Shimazu
  • Superfly 
  • Yoshimi Tendo 
  • Nogizaka46 
  • Perfume
  • Hinatazaka46
  • Foorin
  • Seiko Matsuda
  • Kaori Mizumori
  • LiSA
  • Little Glee Monster

White Team (Men):

  • Arashi
  • Hiroshi Itsuki 
  • Official HiGE DANdism
  • Kis-My-Ft2 
  • King & Prince
  • King Gnu
  • Hiromi Gou
  • Junretsu
  • Masaki Suda
  • Kiyoshi Hikawa
  • Masaharu Fukuyama
  • Hey! Say! JUMP
  • Gen Hoshino
  • Daichi Miura
  • Hiroshi Miyama
  • Keisuke Yamauchi
  • YUZU

For this year’s contest, Haruka Ayase is leading the Red Team, while Arashi member Sho Sakurai is leading the white team. Comedian Teruyoshi Uchimura will be acting as the emcee, while NHK newscaster Mayuko Wakuda will be serving as announcer. This year’s theme is “Let’s Sing Our Dreams,” which the program is using for the four years leading up to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

0 0 vote
Article Rating