The Manga Taishou is an annual Japanese manga award with the goal of promoting newer titles. All nominees to the awards must have eight collected volumes or less. The nominating committee, composed of staff members from bookstores, vote in two rounds: the first to determine the twelve final nominees, and the second to determine the winner. Some of the previous winners include hugely popular and highly-rated series such as “Chihayafuru” (2009), “Golden Kamuy” (2016), and “BEASTSTARS” (2018).

The 2021 edition will be the 14th time the awards will be held. This year’s nominees include Aka Akasaka and Mengo Yokoyari’s “Oshi no Ko”, Uoto’s “Chi. – Chikyu no Undou ni Tsuite -“, Tatsuya Endo’s “SPY x FAMILY”, Tajima Retto’s “Mizu wa Umi ni Mukatte Nagareru”, Kaori Tsuruya’s “METAMORPHOSE no Engawa”, Naoya Matsumoto’s ” Kaiju No. 8″, Jun Meigetsu’s “Kowloon GENERIC ROMANCE”, Kanehito Yamada and Tsukasa Abe’s “Sousou no FRIREN”, and an amazing two titles from the same author — Yama Wayama‘s “Onna no Sono no Hoshi” and “Karaoke Iko!”.